Goodbye for now, Cochabamba.

Brandon Sage
SCU Global Fellows 2018
3 min readAug 3, 2018

Wow. It’s hard to believe that my time in Bolivia is already coming to an end.The time flew by. The past 6 weeks have been filled with crazy weekend adventures, genuine conversations, valuable work experience and exposure to a new lifestyle. I am very grateful to have had to opportunity to spend my summer working and living in Bolivia. I have made memories that will last a lifetime.

Last weekend we went to Salar de Uyuni, the largest salt flats in the world. This was one of the most incredible places I have seen in person. It’s insane to see bright, white salt as far as you can see in every direction. We also visited an island of cacti that was in the middle of the salt flat. This was crazy to see because the island was made mostly of Coral from the when the area was under water. Later in the day we watched a spectacular sunset from an isolated spot in the salt flat. The next day, we got to see a volcano and a couple lagoons that had many wild flamingos. It was amazing to see flamingos in the lagoons that we’re frozen over and surrounded by Andes mountains.

Pictures from the Salt Flats

Right now I am sitting in a Jazz bar that I stumbled upon on my way home from dinner. I’m struggling to believe that tomorrow I will be wrapping up my responsibilities at work and packing to leave Bolivia. I am excited to begin my adventure traveling around Peru and Ecuador and then on to a semester in Spain after that. I am going to miss Bolivia very much but I look forward to applying the new life skills and perspectives I have learned here to my next journey.

Goodbye for now, Cochabamba.

Sunset from the Cristo

--

--