To the Womyn and Girls I’ve Met

Kimy Grandi Soriano
SCU Global Fellows 2018
8 min readJul 22, 2018

Here’s to the strong womyn and girls
Who have filled my path with light

To the womxn raising her baby by herself
While balancing work and an extremely toxic ex
Yet being the best mamá there can be
You are radiant, strong, powerful, loving
And you’ve inspired me more than you know

To the 8 year old girl who stood out from the rest in the classes I taught
Who, much to the dismay of the other students, would keep the class late to ask more questions
Who, while everyone else wanted to play on the computers, stayed behind to play with the experiments
Who chose to sit on the balcony and watch the cars go by, while making very advanced observations and asking me how the black smoke relates to climate change
Your curiosity and light awakened feelings in my heart I didn’t know I could feel
You inspire me, and reminded me I should never lose my sense of wonder

To the 5 year old girl who clung tightly onto my hand every time I walked her to the bathroom
Who looked up to me with the biggest most beautiful brown eyes and purest smile I’ve ever seen
Who laid her head in my lap as we waited for her dad to pick her up from class
You simply melted my heart
Your love for the world around you is something I hope I can instill in my future daughter

To the 8 year old girl who confided in me about the abuse she’s experienced
I am so sorry
I love you
You have so much worth
I think about you everyday
I wish life was simpler, so I could just take you in my arms and protect you forever and make sure he never hits you again
I’m sorry you have to endure this, I’m sorry the current system makes it so hard for you to get the justice you deserve
The system has failed you and so have I
I am so sorry, my love

To the 9 year old girl with burn marks on her hands
Who when we foolishly asked what had happened, responded
“My mamá burned me with her cigarettes one day, I don’t know why!”
Baby girl I am so sorry
I’m just glad you don’t have to deal with that abuse anymore
Even though it comes at the cost of you being without a mamá
But the fact that nothing has broken your smile and light fills my heart with awe and hope

To the 10 year old who told tío Brandon to “take charge because he is the man”
Who responded yes when I asked “do you think just because he’s a man, he’s more powerful than you?”
Thank you for listening to me when I took your gentle face in my hands and told you, “LISTEN. No man is more powerful than you, especially just because he is a man. You are more powerful than them all, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.”
I hope you remember this message and carry your fire with you everywhere you go
Because nena you are SO MUCH stronger than you realize

To all the girls from the homes, whom we had the privilege to teach and spend time with
The same girls who have to be each other’s sisters, moms, and best friends
You inspire me, every single last one of you
During the short two weeks we spent together, I tried my best to remind you all of your strength and light and POWER
You ladies are unstoppable, no matter what the world may be telling you
I promise

To the womxn who showed us such kindness when we showed up to her home for an interview
Who bought us a whole litre of coke just to have something to serve us
Who shared with us enough stories to write a book
Who clearly was very intentional when it came to making the most of the situations that life dealt her
Who has raised three wonderful young adults and managed to make sure they all made it to university
Your kindness, warmth, and drive were an HONOR to experience
Thank you for the hospitality, the knitted dolls, the coke, and the love

To the womxn who trusted me with all her feelings and frustrations
Who showed me an incredible amount of trust and openness and love and warmth
Who is a single mamá to two incredible kids
Who had to take on a second job when knitting could no longer sustain her and her family for reasons completely out of her control
Who so clearly expressed to me her passion for knitting and sewing, saying
“This is what I LOVE to do”
Who came alive like a raging fire when I asked her to explain to me more of her work
Who showed me so much love, brought me fresh lemonade, and became a friend in such a short time
You inspire me on so many levels
I walked away from your home with a feeling in my heart that only a couple other people on earth have been able to give me
You are the embodiment of resilience, that pure kind of resilience that is born from love alone
Thank you for everything

To the womxn who has been the biggest support system for me since being here
The one who I didn’t know well before coming to Bolivia
But since then have been my most vulnerable self to
The one who understands my frustrations, my emotions, my highs and my lows
The one who has trusted me enough to allow me to be there for her as well
The one who I’ve been able to create a safe space with, on our own terms
The one who always makes sure to give me my daily touch and daily affirmation
I am more thankful for you than I can properly express
I am in awe of you, your strength, your love, your everything

To the womxn that I’ve been sharing space with
The one who always carries with her a smile and an unwavering positive spirit
The one who I’m able to laugh uncontrollably with,
But also talk seriously with about issues like sexism, sexual assault, and mental health
The one who leaves notes and medicine for me when I’m feeling ill
The one who inspires me to love bigger and love better
Thank you for the love and light you’ve brought into my life and the lives of everyone around us

To the womyn that haven’t been physically with me
But whose love and support I’ve felt no matter the miles, oceans, or hemispheres between us
To my hermana del alma stepping bravely out of her comfort zone in India, spreading her light and working for the empowerment of young girls
You are one of the most incredible people I’ve ever met in my life, and the love and support you continue to show me, for the betterment of me, BAFFLES me. I love you and I’m eternally grateful for you. We were meant to be in each other’s lives longtime. I don’t have a single doubt about that. Te amo.
To my borderlands sister, the one who has literally brought me to tears with the love she’s shown me. The one who helps me see the light in myself when all I see is darkness. The one whose soul I know was meant to be forever connected to mine.
Kitten you are amazing beyond words. I look up to you in a way I don’t look up to anyone else. Not only do you inspire me to be a better person, but you help me actually become one. I love you.
To my best friend taking on the world in Italy. The one who has been there for me when no one else has. The one whose love for me is sturdier than most others. The one who I know is thinking of me even if we’re not talking all the time.
I love you, I don’t even need to tell you how much love I’m sending you because you already know. We have that special type of love that doesn’t need to be spoken because it is so clearly felt. But I’m going to say it anyways. I love you, I admire you, I’m so proud of you.
To my best friend spreading her wings in Rwanda and Uganda. The one being an absolute badass with a mission. The one working to empower other womyn. The one who has empowered me, and has always supported me unconditionally.
I love you hun, and I am beyond proud of you and all that you’re doing to make this world a better place. Your light is as radiant as your smile, and I’m so happy for everyone who’s gotten to feel your love and warmth first hand.
To my biological sister, the one I’m lucky enough to share genes with, but even if I didn’t, I’d choose you to be my sister anyways. You have paved the path for me, quite literally. I wouldn’t be where I am, wouldn’t be who I am, without you. Everyday I give thanks to the universe for being able to have had the most incredible sister and role model to have ever existed throughout space and time. You show me daily what it means to be a badass, to be strong and independent, to be driven, to make your own success, to spread love and laughter. I love you beyond words.
To my moon baby, the one whose soul is connected to mine like no one else. The one who sees an entire ocean in my soul even when I feel it to be barely a puddle. The one whose love for me extends past universes and lifetimes. The one who inspires me to grow into a better version of myself more than anyone ever has.
I have more love for you than there are grains of sand on earth and stars in the universe. You make me certain that I’m the luckiest person in the world. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, but they haven’t invented words to properly describe how much I love you.

To all these womyn and more, may we never forget our strength, and may we never let anyone dim our lights.

--

--

Kimy Grandi Soriano
SCU Global Fellows 2018

Santa Clara University // Environmental Studies // Spanish Studies // Sustainability // Latin American Studies