As Shakira would say………

Sahil Sagar
SCU Global Fellows 2019
2 min readJun 21, 2019

In 4 days, I will be leaving the Bay Area, my home for 20 years, to go and work for a social enterprise called Bright Generation in Kumasi, Ghana. I will be working as a business development/marketing intern finding ways to export Bright Generation’s Bamboo Bike frame initiative to countries in Europe and even the US. Unfortunately, I’m not even done packing yet.

Does rolling clothes actually help save space? The world may never know.

I’ve never ever been the type of person to back down from a challenge. While I'm beyond excited to have this opportunity and be a part of this program, I’m honestly getting kinda nervous. I’ve never been to Ghana, let alone Africa. I will be traveling with 2 other people from SCU that I’ve known for like 10 weeks (David and Brooke you both are gems, this is just last minute jitters). This is my first true test of independence and competence to explore, travel, and work without the shelter of my parents.

I think the thing I’m most worried about is the unknown. Like how am I supposed to communicate with the people if I get hurt or sick? How do I know I’m not going to ripped off when I am trying to buy something or get a taxi. There’s only so much information I can research. Once I’m there it might not be anything like I’ve imagined. I guess I’ll have to figure it out once I’m there.

What I’m most excited about, ironically, is the spontaneity and unknown itself. I think the best part about the change will be experiencing all the different cultures, food, activities, and just a unique way of living life I can’t even imagine. I’m also really excited about the work I’m going to do because its extremely relevant to the material I’ve learned this past spring quarter at school as well!

All in all, I want to come out of this experience with just a different perspective of myself, my place in the world, and how I can make a difference. Although I will be focusing on the development and sales aspect of the business, I want to gain a greater understanding of how social entrepreneurship can change the government, people, and the environment. I’m also extremely excited to be working with a globally recognized individual, Bernice Dapaah, who is the founder of Bright Generation and a true embodiment of social entrepreneur.

That’s all I have, for now. I need to finish packing, take my malaria meds, and get ready for Ghana. I’m as ready as I’ll ever be.

— Sahil Sagar

--

--

Sahil Sagar
SCU Global Fellows 2019

Hi my name is Sahil Sagar, I am a 2019 Global Fellow at Santa Clara University.