My Destiny Reflection

Marialisa Caruso
SCU Global Fellows 2019
3 min readSep 27, 2019

Having been back in California for a month and a half, now, I remain engaged with my experiences abroad. Superficially, my heart still sinks every time I put my toothbrush under the running faucet and my sandal tan has yet to completely disappear, though I was quick to start checking must eat foods off my list. Seriously, in terms of work, I remain in contact with Destiny affiliates, working on creative updates to the design of the company website, piecing together a promo video, and waiting on video calls to the shelter home. As my work with Destiny continued, my travels never stopped for that which I left behind before the start of the fellowship. Since my return, I have been going around Southern California with my dad to promote our film, Emerald Run, landing us a January release and nominations at the World Cinema Milan film festival at the end of this fall. We are still waiting to hear back from several other festivals, but I am particularly optimistic considering this first letter of congratulations came on September 5th, the feast day of St. Mother Teresa of Calcutta. Coincidence? I think not, especially because decisions weren’t due to be posted until September 14th. I knew she and I were two peas in a pod!

While I don’t miss complete strangers sneaking pictures with me or asking that I take them with their children so they can then push them out of the way to be in them, themselves, I would be less concerned if a woman handed me her baby if she actually knew who I was, yes, that happened. Not that I expect to be widely recognized in public after the release of Emerald Run, but if anything good could come out of those awkward encounters, perhaps it was all preparation for the days to come. That being said, before I let this hypothetical fame truly go to my head, I am continually humbled by all that I was able to experience through this unique global fellowship. Aside from the great majesties I witnessed in my venture to one of the seven wonders of the world and intense hikes among the waterfalls of Cherrapunjee on my limited lung capacity when fighting a cough, I was welcomed to work and live in a city appearing disappointed in its visible poverty by some of the most charismatic people I had ever met in their wealth of happiness. On my last day of work, I was told that anyone who looks into Kolkata would see it as no place special they’d want to be, but those that leave Kolkata want to return for all the people that made it special. I can personally attest that I had no prior interest to go anywhere in India in my life, but, since my departure, I can’t help but think of all the friends I left behind and how much more I can still explore, trying to rationalize when I can next return.

--

--

Marialisa Caruso
SCU Global Fellows 2019

SCU ’20 — Finance Major — Creative Writing & IB Double Minor — 2019 Global Fellow at Destiny Foundation/Reflection in Kolkata, India