Work as dive instructor | Learn skills for life

Andreas Ott
Scubacareer.net
Published in
4 min readSep 12, 2017

Work as dive instructor | Learn skills for life

You really want this adventure but you are in doubt if you should invest the money and time to become a dive instructor?

I have been there too. Almost two years to be exact. Always thinking forth and back as an active divemaster. The investment is a lot. The commitment and responsibility to teach people how to dive is high.

I took the leap and after teaching around 170 people in half a year I am glad to be able to share what I learned as an instructor and why it was a good decision.

Self confidence

There have been many situations where I was speechless on dive boats. Especially at the beginning. Some guests can be quite bolt in their communication and so can be colleagues.

Over time you learn to become more self confident. You learn to take decisions and stick with them. Even if not everybody likes you for it, it might be necessary sometimes.

This confidence will be very beneficial for you wherever you go in life.

Deal with stress

In dive shops and on dive boats there is a lot going on at the same time. At beginning I just thought this looks like one big mess.

Once you understand more of the procedures and the exceptions of those you will be able to deal with stress much easier. Even if five people talk to you at the same time you will be able to tackle one question after the other and make it look like you are at ease.

In many jobs, especially where you lead a team this will be very good to have.

Public speaking

The first dive briefing or safety drill on boats in front of thirty or more people is terrifying. Knees become like jelly and you just want to disappear. Still you want to do it.

After doing it a few times it will get easier and you will become better and after many times you actually enjoy it a lot. It’s a bit like sex. You know ;)

Karen Praxel

Photo Credit: MrAquaImage

Handle unforeseen situations

There are many of those. Almost every day. At the beginning you will get a heart attack once you figure out you are the last group on the boat and for example no weights are left for you to dive.

The cool thing about this is that you will become so creative you couldn’t even imagine you would be. That will be such a useful skill to have wherever you go in the future.

Organise yourself

Especially the first open water course I taught was a bit messy. I didn’t really know where to place equipment and I was talking way too much.

After a while you learn to organize your equipment, logistics and all what you are saying to get the best course for your students and less stress for yourself.

Now this is still a skill I enjoy after my time as dive instructor for many other situations in life.

Become a sales ninja

If you are really natural about your passion for diving the sales part comes a bit by itself. I had my very first discover scuba diving student and he straight signed up for an open water course with me. I really didn’t have that in mind to be honest.
I sold my first ever open water course without actually selling it. I was just natural in my passion. It was contagious enough apparently.

After that I became a bit too salesy but then over time learnt the balance.

No matter if you want to do a crowdfunding campaign for a good cause or sell your product it will always be useful to learn how to be contagious and convince others from your passion so they can live the same or support what you are doing.

As a dive instructor you have plenty of opportunities to practice with many different people.

Become a good listener

I usually talk a lot. Sometimes too much. For those who know me stop laughing ya! I had a big challenge to shut up and listen to people. But this is exactly what makes your guests, colleagues and boss feel understood.

And here comes the magic. If somebody feels understood it is way more likely you get what you want too.

If you listen to your guests worries, fears and so on they feel more comfortable with you. Also, if you listen to them it is way easier selling them exactly what they are looking for. You can give them a great value and you get your commission. A fair win-win on all levels.

This skill has shown to be magical for my life.

Careers in Diving — Interview with Scuba Instructor Karen Praxel

Takeaway

I can honestly say that I am super happy I took the leap and worked as a dive instructor. I have learned many skills I can now teach as a coach for public speaking but also for dive professionals to land their dream jobs.

If you are in doubt of doing your course to become a dive instructor contact me or write your questions in the comments.

If you are a dive instructor what was the most valuable skill you learned as dive instructor?
Let me know in the comments. I read them all!

--

--

Andreas Ott
Scubacareer.net

On scubacareer you will find tips on how and where to land dive jobs as a dive professional. #DiveJobs #DiveShops #PADI #SSI #CMAS #Liveaboard #DiveCentre