A handful of Flour

Tahani Swalmha
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readMar 30, 2024
Photo by me.

The sky will not be incomplete today,
it’s a perfect equation; a sky plus another bird.
The elder brother puts a big black sack on the kitchen table,
they’re waiting for a handful of flour on pins
and needles.
With war-like embers,
but the sack is dripping with blood
and the blood touches the tired light.
Even the light in my country is tired,
is tasteless.
It’s his blood, falling to the soles of the feet
but no one knows yet, they think it’s flour.
And straight up, the mother sits on the floor
she wants to make bread.
But all that is there is human shreds.
The sky will not be incomplete today.
Quadcopters are blooming in the country like an ogre,
like a biting fear.
When will the country become a book, a coffee and a home?
When will the guns die and the tank at the door too?

--

--

Tahani Swalmha
Scuzzbucket

I am one among the women in the sun. I write poetry and short stories. Writing is how I speak of myself. I enjoy researching and a good book.