Poetry

Another World

A Short Poem

K J Samuel
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

Driving along the interstate,
All the crime and sin in me,
Wondering about destiny and fate,
Wondering what I guarantee,

My surprise and shock when I look up,
And there it is, my salvation my chance to escape,
The eternal damnation I sewed for myself,
It’s blue hue and green strew filling the night sky,

Beauty akin to a pearl,
Butterflies and giddiness swirl,
A pit within my stomach,
It all turns up,

We all stop in the road,
To view above, another world,
A chance to escape our wickedness,
Lust, vice and sin, Fours words locking me in,
All words with so much meaning,

A chance to escape the lives I damaged,
A new opportunity to escape the resources I ravaged,

I get home and turn on the TV Machine,
Waiting to be spoon-fed by reporters on,
What’s happening and what it all means,
Waiting to be told I can leave, importers will free me,

--

--

K J Samuel
Scuzzbucket

Forever under transformation however, trying to remain authentic. I write short poems and stories, let's explore melancholy together.