Are These Words Enough?

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readMay 22, 2022
Photo by Max on Unsplash

Is this content?

These words I squeeze
so desperately,
the fruits of my labour
dried to a husk,
until the last drop dissolves,
no longer able to satiate
my unquenchable desires,
until empty flesh is tossed away.

I try to wait for the trees to bloom,
for the oranges to grow
to full potential,
to squeeze enough to fill my jug,
to share, to savour,
but maybe store-bought
will suffice this hour.

I cannot risk the loss,
I cannot offer what isn’t there,
there will be no one left
to sip from my cup,
there will be no one left
once the page is bare.

Thank you for reading.

You can read my other poems here.

You can support me as an author by using my referral link to subscribe to Medium. A portion of your subscription will go directly towards me and is always a huge help.

Or, buy me a coffee! https://ko-fi.com/jfhadfield

Instagram|Twitter|Facebook

--

--

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket

Morbid and weird. Writing about the bizarreness of the world and my struggles with chronic illness. Check out my other media: https://instabio.cc/3061322bS0d4u