B -Sides

Andromeda & Xander
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readNov 27, 2022

Hello everyone! Apologies for my lengthy hiatus: finishing exams has lead to a spur of social activity, punctuated by hours of sleep.

I will hopefully back to writing full poems soon, but for the meantime, here are a few little lines I’ve noted down:

(1) Untitled

You were the first person to teach me

That love is a burden.

Perhaps it is my birthright.

A contract I never chose to sign,

A lifeline I’ll be tethered to until the day I die.

(2) Quantum (unfinished)

I am aware

That you will always understate the love

I have for myself.

It comes in glimmers, ephemerons, of silence

Where the air stills

and I am shielded against the piercing light.

It is something you will never see.

It is something you cannot see.

A secret lover,

I jump at sounds;

(3) Juvenile (unfinished)

Oh love, how you always wanted to climb to the top of every tree.

Yet, what treasure are they to your soul

When you’ve already seen the whole world?

There is no magic in infinity.

(4) Love

The words that spill out of my mouth,

“I love you,”

Form a question, a call, a flare,

Above all else.

The truth is, I do love you,

Something I can finally say, no guilt.

But there is a distance, a large expanse of cave,

In which I am in alone, searching for something

To hold on to.

Author’s Note: I hope to see you all again soon! I am currently in Tokyo and have a lot of life I’m excited to share.

--

--

Andromeda & Xander
Scuzzbucket

notorious navel-gazer, rookie poet, amateur student (17)