author’s own

bubble gum

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

--

I stick to you

like bubble gum

a sweet sticky mess

on the bottom

of your shoe

it takes a few blocks

to realize i’m there

clinging onto your sole

and you curse under your breath

this is just what I needed today

-

you reach for your pocket knife

try to scrape me off

but i’m so stuck

I decided to make a home there

and maybe it’s better

to walk a few miles

stomp me into

these brooklyn blocks

praying I stick to something else

-

or maybe if you burn me off

with alcohol and flames

you’ll be rid of the mess

you’ll feel all clean again

and you can walk

a little lighter

but i’m so stuck on you

that even if you set me on fire

both of us will burn

and you’ll have nothing

to walk in

-

is it the worst thing

to let me hang there?

let me go with you

to the coffee shop

on the date

to meet your parents

no one will even know

it’ll be our little secret

a window to your soul

we both know

the more you try to tear me off

i’ll just cling harder

you’ll just get angrier

we’ll just become one

-

I wish I was any other candy

gum always loses its flavor

two minutes in

it’s what you thought you wanted

but now you’re desperately searching

for a trash can

is it the worst thing

to throw me on the ground?

it’s not like anyone will notice

except the poor guy

who accidentally steps on me

and I become part of him

and the cycle lives on

and on

and on.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.