city of angels

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readJun 17, 2024

can’t believe i’m in this place again
my sister’s house out in LA
sitting with all the trees
thinking about you and me
and how life always seems
to get in the way
maybe it’s all this fresh air
i’ve been running from
making a home out east instead
living in all the seams
of what used to be
a full and happy bed.

-

another year older
am i any wiser?
feels like i’m still twenty two
cracking beers with the guys
and blinking my eyes
waking up with no clue
how i got here
what i want
what it means to be me
if anyone knows
and the feeling grows
nagging at every corner of my soul.

-

maybe it’s just existential dread
this cloudiness in my head
making me wonder if i’m okay
and if i’ll live to see another day
is the planet really dying?
is it all a conspiracy against me?
or is this all there is
and you learn to live with it
and just be happy.

-

i can’t tell if i like these moments
instances i’ve collected over time
making me who i am
racking up the years
but subtracting precious life
i look at my siblings
my friends
all the birds
seems like they’re flying and singing and smiling
and i’m just sitting here
writing down words.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.