POETRY

connecting

Nicky Dee
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readJan 3, 2022

--

Image from Geralt on Pxerbay

On.
Off.
on and
off.

busy Doing
Hard Time
and distraction
from things that fill

a
Soul.

avoidance
of all
joy
and sorrow

equally measured
as dangerously
too honest
investment

i walk on
the line

an ongoing
useless effort
to Be
Seen

a haze of white light
and caffeine.
familiarly
uncomfortable limbo

my 100 MPBS
connection
top-class-denial
of affection

in a disconnected
world
of make
believe

Still
more

more secure than the touch
of feeling
only
human

in a too often
unreal world

Inspired by a piece of writing ready today that resonated strongly. Asterion

My response:
This resonates with me deeply.

It took me the better half of two years to quit my tech addiction.

On and off. On and off. The busy-ness and distraction from the things that fill my soul. Huh. Going to use that in a poem or something.

:)

My phone finally died a few weeks ago. I bought a little old school sms and calls only thing. Life has slowed down immensely.

Now I have to sit at my laptop to “connect”. Or should we be saying disconnect ;)

I’m keeping it! No more smart phones for me.

Thanks for your valuable reading time.

If you enjoyed this, you may also enjoy these

Please visit me on Ko-fi to see what else I’m busy with, for free stuff and to send a coffee to encourage more creativity because caffeine.

By becoming a Medium member, you can support this community of creative original content and send me a bit of commission

--

--