Dance with me?

A poem

Shuvranil Sanyal
Scuzzbucket
2 min readJan 10, 2024

--

Photo by Pavel Danilyuk in Pexels

A glow from across the pub showed a spark.
Not just the warm glow of the fireplace, but hair like the brim of the sun.
A voice with the lilt of London rain and a laugh-like chime caught my attention. The red-streaked beauty was a pleasant surprise.

We talked about the clever plans of Shakespeare, Keats, and Austen. We also talked about London’s cobblestone streets, rolling hills, and chasing our goals.
Her green eyes, like a Celtic fire, lit a fire in my soul. A question grew in my mouth, but I didn’t dare say it.

“Excuse me, miss.A song begins. Would you, perhaps, add elegance to these?” I finally rasped, my voice a nervous wheeze.
With a smile, a blush, and a timid nod, we were already together.
Two bodies lost in music, two souls tied in beat.

As we swayed and dipped, her fiery red hair fell down like a waterfall. Beyond it all, a muttered story.
She laughed like pearls and looked at me with eyes like dew in the morning. Every step was a poem written with grace, just her, me, and you.

As the night went on, the stars came out and the streetlight shone.
And on her steps, where it was bright, I felt a pang.
“Maybe tomorrow,” I said, hoping for a spark of hope. “Another song, another dance, another magic spark?”

The sound of a rhyme, a soft voice, and a smile: “I’d love to dance again tomorrow under the same sky.”
So I left the red-haired muse behind, a work of art, with hope in the air and fire in my heart.

While fate danced, I found a beat I loved. I hope the music plays again when the sun goes down and paints the door.
“Dance with me?” I’ll ask again, this time under the moonlight,
Two souls moving together: love, a butterfly, and a flame with red hair.

© Shuvranil Sanyal, 2024

Thank you for visiting my page.
Your claps and support mean a lot for a novice writer like me.
Follow for more poetry, essays, and interesting articles. Dive into the abyss of a different realm of peace.

You can also support me on PayPal.

Hope all of us succeed and fulfill our dreams one day!

--

--

Shuvranil Sanyal
Scuzzbucket

Blogger | Artistic Photographer | PhD Student I Poetic Storyteller