defined by contradiction

Franco Amati
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2024

--

Photo by Junchen Zhou on Pexels

don’t know where my voice goes
when I’m stuck in uncomfortable situations
I wonder where’s my fire
when the occasion for confrontation strikes
I can be disappointingly weak and petty
when freedom is at stake — when soul and life
are on the line…
fuck, I can’t take being yelled at
or being questioned about what I’m doing
from one moment to the next…
shit, it’s stuffy in here
and the droning sound of machines
chewing and scraping in the background
is starting to get to me…
where’s my messiah?
where’s the way out?
please direct me to the nearest exit sign!
ha, it’s terrifying when you begin to realize
that maybe you put the shackles on yourself…
that you are your own best agitator
that somehow your life needs discord
and disruption as much as your heart desires
solace and truth…
is this the stuff of art and lyric?
or is it an excuse?
well, I’ll tell you this,
make the most of your time in limbo
because it’s the painful contradictions
that in the end define you

Franco Amati 2024

--

--

Franco Amati
Scuzzbucket

Speculative fiction writer from New York. Editor of Scuzzbucket. For published work visit francoamatiwrites.com or buy me a coffee at ko-fi.com/francoamati