POETRY

expanding tears

Nicky Dee
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readApr 16, 2022

--

Photo by Photography Maghradze PH from Pexels

i didn’t know
before i learned
to weep

but there are even more kinds of tears

sadness
laughter
joy
grief

i know you know this

i mean the tears of sorrow
i refused to weep
for long years

the ones
buried
so deep
i didn’t know them
until I felt
their heat

i thought i was mad

as
in angry,
not insane.
i never was
this
or that

but they almost had me
believe
their dream
and made me
who they wanted me
to be

i feel them now
because these ragged
raw and honest tears

revealed my truth

tears of grief
buried so deep
i forgot
the parts
i lost
along the way

beneath them.

i’m not
beneath them

anymore

now i know.

locked
liquid heat
behind closed eyes
a weight that Is
more than
Just sadness

solid and real

the parts
of me
long forgotten passed

sometimes
i don’t even know why
i cry

them

these tears are
so more than enough
big hot n’ heavy
i’m not sure how
i could’ve missed them
all along

or let them slide

decidedly
deeply
different

to the other tears i’ve cried

for apparent losses
that were blindingly not;
for love stories
that should’ve never been;
for people
laying shit off on to me

and i allowed this

because i thought i had no place
believing anything
anyway.

easy tears
for superficial things
reflecting
broken shattered slivered
mirror pieces
and reflections
of other peoples’
unfulfilled dreams
and rejections

They were not my tears to shed.

the in-the-dark-hard
quiet heated ones
are mine

they’re different
when the light is on
and i know them

now

because
they’ve shown
me

The Way Home

and carved a path
in my Wake
to follow back

to me

Time is our most valuable commodity and I really appreciate you spending some of yours with me.

If you enjoyed this, you may also like these:

Help me buy a van, get a laptop that actually works, travel the countryside and create for the next part of the journey. Or just do what makes you happy as long as you’re not hurting anyone. Or yourself.

--

--