Fished From The Bottom

K.B. Silver
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2023

--

CW: includes themes and discussion of suicide

I sank at first
satisfied in that feeling
happy to rest on the sea floor
bubbles floating calmly
to the surface
those last fleeting reminders
of the life that used to
reside inside my chest
those traitorous spheres
forever to be my enemy
when seemingly
all is finally at peace
bubbles start rising beneath me
or is it hands
carrying me top side
disrupting the still waters round me
raging tidal waves
sputtering coughing
grasping talons
broken nails
causing crashing ships with broken sails
I thought it would be fine
that the only harm in this
would be mine
who would even have noticed me
a mermaid drowning in the
bottom of the sea

--

--

K.B. Silver
Scuzzbucket

Words of Truth Poetically Spoken, a memoir told mostly through poetry, and a Sci-Fantasy Romance serial in my pub the Serial Box https://linktr.ee/blockwife