For Me To Never Have Met You

Colin Mortemore
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2024
@colinmortemore on instagram

For me to have never met you

I promise my eyes would be less red

Many of my days less dead

Like wilted roses

Dripped in blood

Crisped to the core

For me to have never met you

My heart would have healed

And the skies turned blue

Rather than my insides

From my days with you

For me to never have met you,

or you, or you

The countless yous, with the heart aches

Baked into my mind

The days of my you-th

Spent wrangling with confusion

The words that chapped my lips

The laughter I would have left

The care-free, serendipity

Instead of this scarcity

My life would be so different

But the day I met you

That first day, I knew

I still remember it

Year and year and years

The stares of those eyes

Even after the day I left

My life has been so different

The days we’ve spent together since

The days we’ve spent apart

My life has been so different

For me to never have met you,

I’d dread it

There’d be stares unmet

Life unkept

Hands unheld

And laughter unreturned

My dinners would be less full

Tastes less profound

Life would be less lightful

Desserts less delightful

For me to have met the many yous

In between, and after

I’ve learned and loved

And never stopped being thankful for meeting you

For me to have never met you

Would mean I’d never meet

The you yet to come

--

--

Colin Mortemore
Scuzzbucket

The only way I make sense of my world is through poetry.