From Boy to Man : A Transformation marked by your Absence

A letter, hope you read it once

Shuvranil Sanyal
Scuzzbucket
2 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

My Dearest “Right person, wrong time” Love,

Half a decade. It’s amazing how much time has passed since our paths parted. We’ve travelled separate paths in life, but even though we haven’t spoken, you’ve remained in my thoughts. You see, you were a turning point in my life, not simply a chapter.

It wasn’t easy to lose you. It was a gut-punch and the much-needed wake-up call. It made me face my flaws and realise what real love and responsibility were all about. You pushed me to develop into the guy I am now. I will always be appreciative of that.

My love for you was a fire that never went out; it was love that blazed within me. It’s a love that speaks your name in the stillness and endures the test of time and space. It’s acceptable if you don’t feel the same way as I do. But know that I will always have a piece of myself holding a candle for you.

Though a tiny, obstinate ember of hope still burns within me, dreaming of a future when our paths might cross again and where we might fix the broken bridges, I don’t want this letter to be about rekindling the past. However, know that you will always have a place in my heart and my undying support, even if that never occurs and we never speak again.

I’m only a message away if you ever need anything — a shoulder to cry on, a listening ear. My door is always open, and I will always be completely devoted to you.

Don’t think of me too often. I don’t want you to be sad. Just live well. Just live. I’ll be walking beside you every step of the way, silently cheering you on, wishing you all the happiness and success the world has to offer.

With love and well wishes,

The Boy turned Man Whom You Once Loved.

© Shuvranil Sanyal, 2024

--

--

Shuvranil Sanyal
Scuzzbucket

Blogger | Artistic Photographer | PhD Student I Poetic Storyteller