gameboy

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readJun 25, 2024

i’m no good
at playing your games, boy
let me watch from the couch
but just count me out
i remember back when
you put me on easy mode
traveled through levels
with ease and grace
then somewhere between
levels two and three
the buttons switched up
and I tried and tried
and I died and died
little skulls on the screen
kept mocking me
bet it feels good
to win for once
but you beat me each time
and it was rigged the whole time
I must not have noticed
my feet way behind
and yours way ahead
on the starting line.

-

why was it always
hide and seek
from the start
with your heart and your art
I squinted and saw me
drawn in lines on the edges
but when I asked for confession
it was all in my head
guess I don’t draw that way
when I paint you you’ll know
and my brush always flows
i’ve memorized
your eyes
your lips
your cheekbones
your nose
all the nights I traced your face
while you slept
and never dreamt of me.

-

tag, you’re it
it’s your time to lose
a loser so sore
you walked out the door
left me and my trophy
alone at the top
why can’t you simply
look me in the eyes
admit your demise
but you can’t take the heat
so get out of my kitchen
god, i’m so sick
of letting you win
so find someone else
and play with their head
i’ll sleep soundly in bed
and move to the middle
fill the gap in the sheets
right there in between
the opposing sides.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.