Goodbyes

MoD
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readJan 12, 2024
Image by author.

Most of the time we never know when our goodbye will last forever
There are certain moments where we know ahead of time that we shall never see that person or place again

Graduating high school, moving towns, visiting your family member one last time on their death bed, changing jobs

All preplanned moments of change
Often these pre planned moments are the hardest
It is undoubtedly easier to say goodbye to a friend who you are drifting away from one last unbeknownst time than to say goodbye to a family member as they take their last breath

In goodbyes ignorance is bliss
We never want to know when change is coming
Because otherwise we think too much and too long about an unknown future

But in these known goodbyes we can take our time with what we say and how we send our goodbyes, even if we don’t want the change

Walking through this home of mine, which I have know for several years, I am reminded of every memory that has been created within these four walls
Memories that I did not have to recall until now
The good and the ugly
The memories that felt like dreams when they were created and the ones that felt like life would never end

It is not the first time that I have had to say goodbye to a home but it is the last time that I shall say goodbye to a childhood home

These rooms hold stories that I can only remember as I walk through
Once this place is no longer mine will I be able to remember all those precious memories that made up my life?

The bright blue walls that protected me as I slept
The roaring fire that was always active during the winter
The bright green grass that never died through winter
The kitchen that still did not have enough space for all the tupperware

These rooms were my life
These corners my safe haven
Even though I will never live here again
I will always remember this place
That truly became my home.

--

--

MoD
Scuzzbucket

I am a young adult who works out the problems of life through writing. Instagram @mod_2406