Hands Clasped on Hope

Reece Beckett
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2021

--

A poem, in three parts, partially inspired by Kanye West’s Jesus Lord.

Photo taken by the author.

Nauseous from a lack of sleep,

My sense and sentiments depleted

Feeling like I’ve felt this way

Since the rocks of sediment were seeded

Body built to be defeated,

Some take glee from being beaten,

But these bruised and battered hands

Are sick of swelling up and bleeding.

One foot before the other,

Travels to new and unknown places

Conflicts with those unknown faces

Mistakes my faith just ain’t erasing,

Find some solace in the sun

When it sets, the sky is blazing,

Night terrors just reminders

Of times and trials that still phase me,

But I know that if I hold on long enough

Then God will save me,

I just hope I have the strength and make it through

It’s heavy rain here.

That tapping on the window, that same tapping rots the trees,

Not seen as a man who would pray, pleading on his knees,

--

--

Reece Beckett
Scuzzbucket

Film/music critic and poet. New articles every Mon, Thurs & Sat. Poetry on Sundays! Contact: reecebeckett2002@gmail.com https://linktr.ee/reecebeckett