Hey, you!

Aswathi Ashok
Scuzzbucket
Published in
Aug 16, 2023
Photo by Ümit Bulut on Unsplash

Hey, you!

Have we crossed paths
Exchanged fleeting glances

Were you the kind stranger
Who helped gather groceries from my torn bag

Or perhaps the voice on the line
When I dialed the wrong number that night

Could you be the hand in the park’s green
Guiding me with the map when I lost my way

And that gentle soul
Sharing their seat on the crowded ride

Did your melody once play
Lifting spirits on my dreary day

Did you wear the mentor’s hat
Through books, guiding and healing me

Did you wink as we crossed the street
Or sketch my soul through your portrait

I’ve sought you in various places
Even in miserable days' embrace
Even amidst the darkest spaces

One day I will get a drink with you
That day I will tell you it all!

©️ Aswathi Ashok, 2023. All rights reserved

--

--

Aswathi Ashok
Scuzzbucket

An adventurous soul, a poetess, and a captivating work in progress. 🌟📝✨