homegrown

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2024

saturn’s return

returns me to myself

each morning

offers up perspective

with a side of wisdom

and a healthy helping of clarity

a balanced breakfast

to start my day

when I was a kid

life seemed so big

I wanted it all

but had a stomach too small

to carry it

now i’m so starving

full-grown and filled-out

I could feast on every star

and still have room

for the moon

-

at thirteen all I knew

was junk food

hot cheetos, sour candy

bottom-shelf liquor, oregano weed

handfuls of boys

who should’ve came

with a warning label

friends as sweet as

sour patch kids

-

we were all so bitter

at a world we hardly knew yet

now I know it’s not our fault

we were just lost and scared

right at home

rebecca’s room in the trailer park

kristen’s mom passed out on the couch

grace’s pills in her pocket

my dad’s liquor in our backpacks

what it means to grow up

without knowing any better

in a town that swallowed you whole

made you think it was normal

to get calls on a wednesday

softly letting you know

grace passed away

from an overdose

-

for so long I shamed myself

easier to blame inward

than look outward

at the past

I wish I could take her in my arms

that angry little girl

give her a warm hug

fix her an after-school snack

of cut-up fruit and soft voices

show her a glimpse of the future

promise she would get out

and work hard

and love greatly

and feel important

and see more

than dead ends

heat waves

muddy lakes

and fresh graves

-

so I lay it to rest

forgive myself and everyone else

try not to live in absolutes

things come in so many colors

yet it’s so easy

to see in black and white

nowadays i’m not hungry for

low hanging fruit

there’s so much else

to pick from the tree

if only you’re willing to

reach a little higher.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.