How I Got Over

Reece Beckett
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readDec 1, 2021

--

A poem, titled after the record by The Roots.

Image by Priscilla Du Preez, via Unsplash.

Today the streets were emptied.

Cleaned by the monsoon

I walked on water

As I made my way upwards.

Lack of gravity and clarity.

I’m untouched by the forces

I dodged that broken glass

I stepped over used syringes

I’m affluent in influence

The ripples spawned by my footsteps

Strike as Gospel to those drowning

And those trying to tread water.

The stench of unswept streets

The depths on unmet meets

I greet both late at night

When I decide to try to sleep.

Swapped my pillow for a vice,

Fell asleep, then woke up twice

Sold off my false idols, in return for Christ

Moving in my own direction, less time to be nice.

You need to know the rules before you can break them,

Dig up the roots of the trees before you shake them,

Fruits don’t come loose and make juice stuck in trees

My noose won’t go loose if I don’t pray on my knees.

“My poetry is living, like the God that I fall back on,

All praise is due to Allah for this illustrious platform.”

--

--

Reece Beckett
Scuzzbucket

Film/music critic and poet. New articles every Mon, Thurs & Sat. Poetry on Sundays! Contact: reecebeckett2002@gmail.com https://linktr.ee/reecebeckett