I’m Too Busy Reading on Medium to Write

A. N. Tipton
Scuzzbucket
Published in
4 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

musings on a busy life

Photo by Anete Lūsiņa on Unsplash

I’m too busy reading all the poems, articles and stories on Medium to write myself. I wonder if anyone else struggles with balancing reading other’s words and creating their own. I mean, how do you get to all those you follow and follow you…read, clap and comment? Does anyone else feel the guilt of not being able to touch base with everyone?

Living in this world feels like having to be a master of time management and compartmentalization of social media, work, family, writing, reading…liking, posting, creating, and watching the television.

Television, that’s a strange word. Do you ever stop and think about it. Tele derived from Greek adjective τῆλε (têle,) meaning “at a distance, far off, far away, far from”. It’s about covering distances. Vision is derived from Latin root vis meaning “to see”. So really television means to see at a distance. What are we really seeing though? Maybe television will be the ancient technology of telepathy in the future.

But I digress. Or isn’t that the point? Living in a fast world with too many distractions, too many platforms offering up information vying for wavelengths of competition to worm their way into your brain. Viral programming at its finest, hypnotizing the masses where we gladly accept technical addiction. Speaking of addiction

--

--

A. N. Tipton
Scuzzbucket

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.