Jazzy Dinner Playlist

Vivian Valentine
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readNov 10, 2023

A Poem -

Photo by the Author

How surreal to be sitting here thinking I’d be okay, if only I could be scurrying around, trying to put together a romantic weeknight dinner for the two of us.

The cleaning took too long, and so I’m speeding now to the store because I forgot tinfoil the first time, and olive oil the second.

Oh, and there were fresh flowers there, too! Knowing me, I had to stop and pick out exactly the right ones.

What better than a bouquet and my ‘jazzy dinner playlist’ to greet you at the door?

I’d come around the corner to look for your eyes, and hope for a giddy smile on your face, before you’d wrap me up.

You chose me back then, and I would play with articulating the beginnings of a promise while you were away-

A silly little secret I thought to note, because it would make wrinkly versions of us laugh one day.

--

--

Vivian Valentine
Scuzzbucket

give what you are healthily able & do so genuinely- to the living beings who need it (don't forget about yourself).