just kids

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readJun 28, 2024

when did we become
more than just kids?
traded the best of us
for love and lust
and damn I really miss
our sweet innocence
playing on wet turf
running for the hell of it
feeling small among it all
the beautiful unknowing
of being new to the earth.

-

wish I could go back there
the old country day school
with the treehouse out back
and the chickens that chased us
chasing butterflies
with sleepy eyes
while our parents told lies
like we’d never grow up
like we’re special just because
like our pets went to heaven
and clovers give you luck.

-

lucky to be us back then
no one judged just for fun
bagged lunch and barbies
book fairs and bubblegum
remember all those things?
thought they were lost forever
but when I have time to think
I find my way back home
and if i’m not a kid,
why am I so scared of it?
the yearning that comes with learning
now it’s time
to make your own.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.