abbu (dad)

mrum
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readMar 14, 2023

Kathleen Speranza – Portfolio of Works: Still Life

My protector has damaged me,

Brought me into this world,

but dreams to break free,

ashamed of my existence, you say?

is this really meant for a child to see?

heard him yell instead of talk,

got hit instead of hugged,

tasted poison instead of honey,

smelled hatred in blood that we share,

saw affection, but for others only,

Is this really true?

can we be related by blood?

if so, why do my tears form a flood?

I receive nothing, but broken bones,

the pain is too mighty,

awaken me when time has flown.

little girl so alone,

wears nylons to cover her bruises,

comrades and tutors can’t be more clueless,

why dare I grumble upon such matter?

for it is not the aim of war,

what is it that mortifies you so deeply?

is it my broad shoulders?

or my flawed waist?

for I am willing to change,

just promise me the love,

that I am so eager to taste,

for you are the reason of my very existence,

yet, you and I remain distanced by such insouciance.

--

--

mrum
Scuzzbucket

“I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn.” — Anne Frank