Make a start and good things will follow

Suman Dhillon
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readAug 24, 2023

I wasn’t such a believer in life changing events, to me life was something that keeps flowing in just one direction and you just keep living it. But as I have grown older, I have realised that it is too complicated to just keep flowing in one direction, it keeps changing, sometimes pleasantly and smooth like a wave and sometimes so vicious that it hits you like a strong wind.

I have always felt that we are relentlessly waiting for life to change but we are not willing to do something towards it, so in a way we are hoping that it would just happen. I will speak for myself, some days I am just waiting for the day to end so that when I go to sleep at least for some time, I won’t have to worry about my problems. Everyday I am trying to run away from my problems and I hope that one day I would wake up and all my troubles will just disappear miraculously, I am not sure how it is going to happen but I am surely wishing for it.

I keep waiting for that day when it is finally going to happen but how that day is actually going to happen, I am not so sure. Let me give you an example here, I have been thinking for a while about joining the gym and start exercising to live a healthier lifestyle. I would like to add that I must have kept thinking about it for months but nothing happened, then one day I went out for a short walk and it wasn’t so hard to be fair. After this short success, I just broke out of my daily routine and started to walk 20 minutes every day and I did feel good.

Now after nearly a month, I am still walking, I might not be going to the gym and burn calories by running on a treadmill but I am walking for sure. And how did it all began, it began with me starting to actually do something than just keep thinking about it and my thoughts became action. I am not going to brag that I am more healthier than I was, but at least I made a start somehow. Maybe that’s all we need, that little step to make a start in some direction and good things will follow.

--

--

Suman Dhillon
Scuzzbucket

I am a poet and a storyteller , writing is as essential as breathing for me