My Pen Died

A poem

Vic Spandrio
Scuzzbucket

--

Photo by FÍA YANG on Unsplash

My pen died
and yes, other pens
in other drawers
cry black and blue
to finish the sentence
saying: I too resource! I too utility!
and yes it’s true
good tools the lot of ‘em
good pens, I’m sure
but thing is
I liked the old pen
she was robust
she had class
a full-bodied bordeaux
with edges my fingers could find
she didn’t so much mark paper
as figure-skate across it
under her eye words weren’t writ
they were made to submit
and don’t start me on weight
christ, she weighed
enough to hold me to a chair!
O’ how she felt important
O’ how I felt important
O’ my poor dear pen
even now as you lay beside
void of resource, dry
as king tut’s crotch
you still remain
the most sophisticated thing
about me.

Vic Spandrio 2023

--

--