nap after work

Franco Amati
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Photo by Plato Terentev on Pexels

as tough as the day is
sometimes
it’s good to find a quiet
moment
curled up on the corner
of the couch
with my girlfriend
on my shoulder
and my little one-eyed
cat resting in my lap,
rain pitter-pattering
on the roof,
living room darkened
by the cloudy haze,
and a mostly
voiceless silence
punctuated by steady
REM-controlled
breathing
as the accompanying
vocal track,
I drift off a little myself,
but I mostly enjoy the moment
— the low-stim vibe
is a welcome retreat
from the chaotic servitude
that tends to fill
my corporate-lite days
the cup of earl gray
goes tepid
as I’ve gulped most of it
down by now…
soon we’ll have a little dinner
and watch some kind of
easily digestible television
that’s how the evening goes
so the cat crawls off
and finishes his nap
at the very top of his condo-tree
the girl rolls over,
stiff neck prevention,
to finish her nap in
another direction,
and I’m awake again
and ready for the keys
to face the moment
where my mind
meets yours,
meets the world,
tonight

--

--

Franco Amati
Scuzzbucket

Speculative fiction writer from New York. Editor of Scuzzbucket. For published work visit francoamatiwrites.com or buy me a coffee at ko-fi.com/francoamati