over it

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readJul 25, 2024

I got over you
on a wednesday
walking down my same old street
and I turned left at the end
instead
I got over you
at lunch with my coworkers
they asked how you were
and I realized I didn’t know
for once.

-

I got over you
when summer ended
a sweet sticky mess
melting on the sidewalk
it ran right down the drain
and all of a sudden
my streets felt clean
I cleaned up all your mess
and threw it out with the garbage.

-

I got over you
while I was under
someone else
their weight was nothing
compared to all your baggage
and all the guilt I carried
for keeping you around
faded away
like a worn out memory
I got over you
on the dance floor
my friends looked at me smiling
they said it was so nice
and we danced all night
to celebrate it.

-

I got over you
on the subway
I got over you
when the clock struck noon
I got over you
after sending an email
while I cooked myself dinner
during a summer storm
after a good night’s sleep
on a date with someone I actually like
at the bottom of a glass of wine…

-

I got over you
and it feels so good
to be over it
all caught up
in myself again
and I don’t need to
forget you
to remember me
because if I do,
i’ll fall right back into you
and I’m too happy now
walking hand in hand
with my own damn self —

just us two.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.