Pepper, Citrus, & Moss

aubreypoetry
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readApr 14, 2024
Etsy on Pinterest

I kind of want to hug you again
I know our skin is made of
bitter ends
But I want to remember
what you smell like

Let it take me back to
love
in a way I’d never known

Pepper, citrus, & moss
All of the ways I’d loved you

Pepper
crack
wasted time on you
coating my tongue
with apologies
coaxed by you
suckered into lust for you

Citrus
slurp
sweet pulp in my teeth
I loved to kiss you
& laugh with you
it was dancing
cooking noodles in the kitchen
& exploring space with you

Moss
Home was you
growth overflowing
& ancient
like I’d known you before
forever connected
all-knowing
me in my bones
never actually going away
but needing space
we spread into too much distance
I can’t remember the taste

I kind of want to hug you again

-aubrey poetry

--

--