Pity party lullaby

A poem

Polyna Firer
Scuzzbucket

--

Photo by Nick Fox on Unsplash

So easy to get trapped inside
The pity party lullaby
I shake my head, you shake yours back
We walk along the tired tracks
Lamenting,
Our vibrations still
You get depressed
I take the pill
Now, don’t get up
Peer out the sill
Just let the darkness have its fill

I look out, knowing what to find
Because our views are pre-defined
By sickness plastered on the walls
Designer sneakers, outbound calls
Flashes tempting me to yearn
They bait and bait until I burn
And all is doom
And all is woe
I’m getting tired of this show

Yesterday I finally wept
As I laundered
As I slept
As I began to put aside
The pity party lullaby
Unhappy with my new resolve
Imposters twitched and screeched and drawled
Plotting to infect, dissolve
Me back into the putrid pool
Of indecision, loss of self
Insidious infectious ‘cool’

--

--

Polyna Firer
Scuzzbucket

Human, creative, lover of sunshine. Healing through poetry and music.