Poem: Purple Harp

Morgan Lahm
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2023

--

Photo by Joshua Fuller on Unsplash

Purple Harp

A purple harp slowly begins its gentle melody
It gives me its strings and streams a line of dusk across my body

A careful bed caresses me
And caters to my weight

But this restful abode is a hammock
Where my mental balance thrives between the trees

Life is gradual
As the sun gradually disappears

The red violin, the orange trumpet hum
The navy bass softly bellows

My name
Its velvet line is playing my name

The sky is an infinite minute hand
Time is outdated

The deep purple atmosphere
Is a mother’s voice blanketing my worries and tending to my yelps

Silence opens another breath; a kind clarinet whispers,
Knocks on my eyelids, and bathes my soul

My heart is warm and places its hands on my floating chest
And the purple harp admits to me that my day is done

About: In this poem, I attempted to capture the emotions of peace and relief. I imagine myself relaxing in a hammock as the day ends. An orchestra…

--

--

Morgan Lahm
Scuzzbucket

Self-love | Nature | Poetry | My poetry book is out NOW on Amazon! For more poetry :) : https://medium.com/@morganjlahm/membership