Ritalin

Andromeda & Xander
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readOct 29, 2022
Lydia Roberts on Flickr

I would never wish to bestow you such a life.

This manic bird in my ribcage, the discordance

Of my blood vessels tensing

And releasing at every off-beat.

I stand and spin at the same time,

Stuck in a trance:

Where audio loops until the tape expires,

Each repeat increasing in speed,

The tension in my gut thrumming to a climax a realisation

an explosion a release maybe it will finally stop maybe —

It’s still here, of course.

I am, too.

No matter what escapes I plan, what life I avoid,

The knot follows like a shadow,

Stitched to the place where my heart should be.

I am decomposing, small insects and foreign energies

Invading my body, seizing control.

As they resurrect me,

I’ll take the backseat.

Author’s Note: As the title suggests, this poem is about how it feels to be on Ritalin sometimes. Great for study, bad for anxiety. Thank you again for all the love ❤

--

--

Andromeda & Xander
Scuzzbucket

notorious navel-gazer, rookie poet, amateur student (17)