Routine

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readSep 24, 2022
Photo by Cooper Baumgartner on Unsplash

It starts with a thunderclap
that ripples, head to toe,
lightening travels down the spine
and your body starts to slow.

You know the symptoms well,
how it pulses, loud and sour,
and once the swelling starts
it’ll spread within the hour.

You dull the ache with pills,
but the stiffness seems to linger,
until you cannot bend a leg
or straighten out a finger.

You lay upon your bed,
out of breath, a broken heart,
to mourn yet another day
you didn’t get to start.

‘Must be nice,’ they say,
‘to spend the whole day sleeping,’
little do they know
I’ve spent the past week weeping.

Life’s a precious thing,
and I treasure it so dearly,
I only wish my time on Earth
didn’t hurt so severely

Thank you for reading.

You can read my other poems here.

You can support me as an author by using my referral link to subscribe to Medium. A portion of your subscription will go directly towards me and is always a huge help.

Or, buy me a coffee! https://ko-fi.com/jfhadfield

Instagram|Twitter|Facebook

--

--

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket

Morbid and weird. Writing about the bizarreness of the world and my struggles with chronic illness. Check out my other media: https://instabio.cc/3061322bS0d4u