set in stone

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2024

therapist told me
it would be crazy to think i’m the only problem
but call me insane cause I look at these people
and it’s only me they have in common
i’ve encountered every kind of soul
love-bombed, be-friended, relationship-ended
burned bridges and walked away from the flames
then lied awake at night and cried at the sky
for not sending me better replacements.

-

i’ve kept calm and carried on
held on to dirty secrets
told myself all the lies,
like if I found the right guy,
i’d lay down my weapons and let him in
but maybe this dog can’t learn new tricks
and I’m doomed to a future of the same scene on repeat
a broken record shoved into a DVD player
and it works but only plays groundhog day.

-

I remember this one time
or three times or four times
I was on the same date discussing food
what’s your favorite, what you cook, do you clean as you go
but I just shook my head no
because the truth is so much bleaker than butter
I could eat the same meal everyday and feel empty
and even my last one would still be the same and be plenty.

-

trying new things only takes you so far
what matters is what you do with them
i’ve traveled the world and marveled at museums
seen all the statues standing the test of time
and I think to myself how lovely it is
to stand still forever and no one asks why
I wonder why we accept art as it is
stuck on a wall looking down at us all
and we’d never beg it to be different.

-

i’m so jealous of michelangelo
sculpting friends who never talked back
chiseling away life and replacing it with glory
yet we’d never give him flack for that
wish I could make me the prettiest statue
looking out at the world but in my cold heart I know —
life could throw me every flavor of bone,
but what I am will always be set in stone.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.