Shocks

In socks.

David Rudder
Scuzzbucket
1 min readSep 8, 2023

--

Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

They looked so familiar,
Though also a little strange,
A pair of legs in ankle socks,
A most, mysterious change.

Starting down the staircase,
Then coming into view,
Wearing only ankle socks,
Came my girl, Loretta Lu.

Shocks in socks have sent me,
Into intensive care,
Later when she visited,
She said how do you dare.

I said as my eyes travelled,
From your ankle socks to your legs,
I nearly had a pink fit,
And felt like laying eggs.

As I may not have mentioned,
Apart from socks, she was au natural,
And all attempts to stay upright,
Were ineffectual.

First, I saw flying saucers,
Staggered, then I fell,
And from that salient moment,
I’ve not been feeling very well.

So it is true, Lindy Lou,
I called out the wrong name,
It was a blue, Loretta Lu,
What a dreadful shame.

Now I don’t get names mixed up,
Or stop and stare,
At shocks in socks, I thought I’d seen,
Wearing no underwear.

©

David Rudder
2016

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Scuzzbucket

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.