Sleep

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readSep 17, 2022
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

It comes and it goes
on a schedule unbeknown,
hours passed in solitude,
awaiting the fall,
the blessed moments of
my own nonsense,
without consequence,
sprinklings of absurdity,
absorbed without memory.

When it comes in the day,
I often fight a losing war,
beside the open window,
soft sun warming or
hard rain soothing,
onwards I go,
to my merry world.

When it comes at night
I am thankful,
I am willing, surrendering,
perhaps it does not like its victims pliant,
and how I beg as time ticks on,
until pity overcomes,
those rested rightly moments
restore what little humanity
I have left.

And sometimes it rejects me,
though I’m putty in its hands,
half-conscious I become,
to the sounds and
all the senses,
and with a plea I ask once more
for it to keep me
a while longer.

Written at 5:57 am, after yet another restless night.

Thank you for reading.

You can read my other poems here.

You can support me as an author by using my referral link to subscribe to Medium. A portion of your subscription will go directly towards me and is always a huge help.

Or, buy me a coffee! https://ko-fi.com/jfhadfield

Instagram|Twitter|Facebook

--

--

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket

Morbid and weird. Writing about the bizarreness of the world and my struggles with chronic illness. Check out my other media: https://instabio.cc/3061322bS0d4u