Star story

Anya’s poems
Scuzzbucket
Published in
Jan 16, 2024
Photo by David Becker on Unsplash

My head rested on your lap
as you looked down on my eyes-
mine into yours then
back up to the stars with a smile.
That was our cycle.

You broke the silence by saying
that we can see
some stars even after they died,
that some have died in their time
but the speed of light hits us later.

I looked back into your eyes
behind the whites
into the light, oh the fear in them-
he has a body who lives, breathes, writes,
runs, dances, thinks
Untold thoughts but they’re there

and it was only when I moved with your light,
that I realized you were never even there
completely,
your mind was in the abyss we used to lay our eyes upon

the whole time, in our time, or your time.

--

--

Anya’s poems
Scuzzbucket

I’m Anya, 17, and I write my thoughts about everything. I hope you enjoy my poems :)