v.h.min
Scuzzbucket
Published in
2 min readSep 7, 2024

--

Author's Illustrations

Often I was taken away;
In the name of education,
Off I went to college,
And when the adult duty calls,
I’m away for months till the reunion,
With my dearest parents.

Yes,
Video calls are a thing,
And it does assuage the longing to a certain extent,
But,
I yearn for something more,
Something always warm and welcoming.
To go back,
Straddle in their cuddly hugs,
Has become more of a privilege,
For our time apart,
Makes me realize,
That I'm one in the ton,
Granted a forever home to return to.

Like a fine wine,
Mum brings herself around,
With her stealthy achievements,
Like a true depiction of sheer agility.
Plus,
Her once diligently dyed hair,
Now,
Proudly flaunted off in shades of peppery salt,
With so much poise and grace.

Through the challenging labyrinth of time,
Always going out of his forte,
Trying his utmost best in everything he desires,
Dad still looks dapper in his well kempt mustache,
Perfect for a prickly, ticklish kiss on the cheeks,
When it is time for a yet again goodbye.

Skin creases,
White streaks,
Charming laugh lines,
Swarm their loving character with sweet charms,
Heartily saccharine,
That I would forever swell with pride,
In their affection and devotion.

~*~

--

--

v.h.min
Scuzzbucket

Even in silence, I hope my prowls are heard through poetry filled with verselets and ventures ~*~