that place

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readJul 1, 2024

I got the news
when I was running
running in the park
and it started raining
just like my eyes
when I heard he had died
a soft soul beat down
into cold hard ground
and why does life seem
to knock some around
while the worst ones
walk freely.

-

wish I had called
wish I was there
wish I held on too tight
all through the night
and it’s so unfair
these moments in time
I remember when
it was the other him
my best friend nick
about two years ago
and even when
I sent the text
it still happened next
so what’s the use
of really trying.

-

trying and failing
to shield ones you love
to give warm hugs
while the flowers around us
keep dying
it cut straight through town
that old road we flew down
and now i fly homebound
with my head in my hands
and my hands in my lap
maybe if I pray to a god
I don’t believe in
it will all be a dream and
somehow i’ll find them
and squeeze them
and keep them
safe from that place
no one talks about.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.