The After Hour

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readApr 25, 2022
Photo by Charlie Solorzano on Unsplash

The room is as we left it,
a shrine of jubilation,
solemn in the grey morning glow.

The cutting board askew, knife unwashed,
cheap cheese upon discount crackers,
washed down with wine in teacups.

It smells of stale cigarettes,
we coat the walls in perfume until our noses sigh,
the blankets forlorn upon the floor.

Headaches are flushed with water,
aches are soothed by coffee,
in the melancholy of the morning after.

There is always silence when the party’s over,
deep, piercing and hollow,
where the ghosts of yesterday echo the loudest.

I’ll spend my day tidying away,
forcing a smile in the aftermath,
and write ribboned invitations for the next.

What little life I have left
shall be ever golden,
chasing rainbows.

Thank you for reading.

You can read my other poems here.

You can support me as an author by using my referral link to subscribe to Medium. A portion of your subscription will go directly towards me and is always a huge help.

Or, buy me a coffee! https://ko-fi.com/jfhadfield

Instagram|Twitter|Facebook

--

--

Jade Hadfield
Scuzzbucket

Morbid and weird. Writing about the bizarreness of the world and my struggles with chronic illness. Check out my other media: https://instabio.cc/3061322bS0d4u