The Devil’s Milkshake

A poem

Scott Zosel
Scuzzbucket

--

Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

Reeling from a battle-whipped week of calamitous activity, the backside of heightened emotional cadence, I find a way to end up on my feet, OK?

Today, I proudly wear the uniform of disgust.

All its epaulets and gold buttons,
helping disguise the imaginary me,
the persona who keeps failure in line,
reality at bay,
free from wounded-eyed clarity,
nobility's handshake,
head-nodding grace,
fueling self-exaggeration.

Walking a tightrope up so high in rarified air,
imagination is no match for snow-blind flaws,
the usual internal brawling,
the abyss of behavior-ing;
backslapping stink-eye of dissatisfaction,
self-inflicted acrimony.

Fear not, sports fans!

The middling me always prevails,
I am merely the ice cream in the Devil’s milkshake,
resulting in my joyously elevated wordery.

(And, scene!!)

© Scott Zosel (all rights reserved)

Greetings Skuzzbucket peeps, glad to have a place for my stuff. Feels like home. Love this place, glad to be here!

--

--