The Expanse

Andromeda & Xander
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readNov 6, 2022
Magic Transistor

I am not guided in my descent.

The most important lessons are ones gathered alone,

Devoid of the mind’s detective strings and the soul’s

Desire for a derivative elixir of Knowledge.

I stand in a room that holds everything.

My need for retrospection is trumped

By my position, within the spectacle.

I cannot truly be an observer of myself.

There are beings who do stand on the edge,

Looking in.

I ask how I can get such a power, a magnitude

Within the span of it all, for the World and Beyond

Is always out of my reach.

They respond after a fraction of eternity has passed,

For they cannot travel faster than light.

At the end, they say,

Questions are better than Answers.

Author’s Note: This was inspired after I was watching Lucifer (I know) and I started reading Dante’s Inferno. I was enthralled by the idea of powers bigger than me, but also got to thinking that I am far more entertained pondering the “What if?” rather than finding out everything.

--

--

Andromeda & Xander
Scuzzbucket

notorious navel-gazer, rookie poet, amateur student (17)