The Totality of Us Remains

the Moon starts to move away from the Sun, the sky begins to lighten, and yet, the memory remains.

kristina lynn
Scuzzbucket

--

Art by Esperanza Manzanera on Pinterest

No longer will I stare,
uncomprehending, at the drywall,

watching our bodies eclipse
and then your shadow

peeling off —
There is more to see

than the brief contact
making a wrung towel of my lungs;

There is more to see than the plaster
clinging to my pillow fibers.

No longer will I press
my palm into your fist-shaped crater,

thumbing the edges
for any secrets you had

left.
You had already excised

The Weakness.
I roll and roll, and still

the totality sears my retinas.
Still, your smolder remains.

No longer will I stare, uncomprehending
of the silence.

There is no need
when our tangential limbs burn a path

even in blindness.
I shadow our path of totality

until the once-in-a-lifetime event
becomes nauseating.

kristina gaffney 2024

--

--

kristina lynn
Scuzzbucket

"I write only because there is a voice within me that will not be still." - Sylvia Plath