The Unseen Letters of Love

To be opened by an unknown one day

Shuvranil Sanyal
Scuzzbucket

--

Photo by John Jennings on Unsplash

It was one of those rainy nights where every gust of wind seeped into your bones. Walking back from the research lab, I felt like a rat that had been drowned. Wet skin clung to my clothes like a second skin, and fatigue weighed heavily on my eyelids. After struggling with my keys for a while, I managed to open the door and staggered inside, where I was met with the dim glow of the light. I let out a sigh and kicked off my sodden shoes, creating a reverberating sound throughout the otherwise quiet apartment. I shuffled towards the bedroom, leaving a soggy puddle on the floor and holding a towel tightly like a lifeline.

The worn handle of the old dresser seemed to beckon me as I passed it. I tentatively reached out, and the top drawer opened with a faint creak. Beneath a scattering of misplaced invoices and stale mementos, there was a secret world hidden away. I found my unpublished love letters neatly folded, like dreams long forgotten. Every clean page contained a tale, a confession spoken to the paper rather than to a loved one. I felt a twinge of bittersweet nostalgia as I studied the assortment. They held unspoken emotions and yearning, akin to unopened birthday presents.

I thought maybe these letters would end up in the hearts they were intended for someday. However, they remained in their drawer for the time being, a silent declaration of my love that awaited the appropriate moment to be heard. I let out another sigh and shut the drawer, letting the weight of words unsaid return to its comfortable spot. The knowledge that they existed and were a part of me, waiting for the day when their song could be heard, gave me comfort.

© Shuvranil Sanyal, 2024

--

--

Shuvranil Sanyal
Scuzzbucket

Blogger | Artistic Photographer | PhD Student I Poetic Storyteller