today

Keiko
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min read16 hours ago

today
I went to get a diet coke
at my deli on the corner
and I saw a little girl
smiling at a dog,
tugging on her mom’s hand
to look at all the beauty
and I ran home to write this.

-

makes me feel like
life moves on
it keeps shifting
every time I think
i’ve gained my footing
it keeps breathing
and producing
small children
who grow up
and make messes of everything
and sometimes
even off themselves.

-

what is it
that tugging feeling
pulling me apart
leaking from my eyes
every time I look at old pictures
buried deep inside my phone
tucked away for safe keeping
or just moments
when I feel like time travel
football fields so infinite
winding roads leading to nowhere
a soft nostalgia
like a sun-bleached polaroid.

-

I remember
everything —
tanned skin
swimming pools
getting drunk at the water park
and falling down the stairs
I remember the stage
we sat on
arms wrapped around each other
if only we could hold on so tight
forever
maybe we’d never die.

-

but i’m just a little girl
reaching for a hand
to tug on
every time I see something beautiful
if a tree falls
in the woods
when no one’s there,
does it still make a sound?
or does life just keep living
regardless.

--

--

Keiko
Scuzzbucket

thoughts on living and loving and the chaos that happens in between.