Selma Othmani
Scuzzbucket
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2024

--

When You

Poem

As Tears Go By (1988)
Dir. Wong Kar-wai

When you,

Erase I the chart
Of things
And cancel
O'clocks and
Happenchances,
To re-
Foreknow
How gorram
Your love is
Sentient, whisked
In my every
Parcel.

When you,

Do I havoc
My lifeless fads
For one clement
Manoeuvre
Of what you
Profess
To life into me.

Your love in
My heart
Survives
When I resist
Survival and myself.

When you,

Only warmth
Of your air
Prevails
-All else is falsity.
Lenient
Intention of your
Intonation
Alone
Tames my
Nervosity.

When you,

Lay I one
Hand
On the heart,
To hold in awe
Your
Patience work:
Finesse
Of lushes abstinence
And
Nonlinearity
Of the
Smile.

When you,

Do I unleash
My toska;
Let the things
Go.
You alone
Do master this
Heart;
Unknot it
Off its sardonic
Trends,
And do to it
What August does
To
Neonate
Papaver rhoeas.

When you,

Live I when I
Cannot.

When you,

All else

Nul.

--

--